After our first snow, then a jump back to summer we’re officially enjoying fall-like conditions around here. I am really going to try to be a little better about blogging as we move in to winter, more for me than anything else, but for now I’m going to throw it back a bit and recap my top 5 from the past summer.

5. Wednesday Project-I know I’ve mentioned these folks before, but I still am loving this group as much as ever. This was the first summer I didn’t coach swimming in awhile and while I worked, I still had WAY more free time than I’ve ever experienced before, which was good, but sometimes it could be a bit much. I’m used to be busy, busy, busy, but this summer I was not as busy and most of my friends were not available during the week so it was great to have something to look forward to every week with familiar faces!

4. Getting back into Tri Training and Learning to Love Cycling-After I ran the Eugene marathon in May I had a hard time getting back in to running so of course I decided to bust out the road bike and try a few rides. I was feeling ok so I signed up for the Lake to Lake Triathlon in Loveland at the end of June, that went well so I decided it was time to finally sign up for a 70.3. Cycling has always been (and still is) my weakest link of the race. I still feel proud of the work I put in on the bike this summer and I achieved this by making sure to try some new routes and explore new places on two wheels. For me to be more competitive I am definitely going to need to up the cycling in the future. I’m working on some strength training this winter that will hopefully help me in the future. Can you say dead-lifts for days? #gainz

3. Camping/Mountain Time-I managed to fit in quite a bit of good mountain time this summer and I felt like it was a good mix between solo and with friends. I already wrote about a few of my camping trips that happened early in the summer, but I had another fabulous trip right before my dad came in just Barley and I. We camped at North Michigan Reservoir, which is in State Forest State Park near Cameron Pass aka one of my favorite places. The camping trip was very interesting (people in the site I had reserved online, crazy storms), but it is such a beautiful area, I got a couple of great hikes in and saw my first moose (combo crazy cool and crazy scary).

2. Sister P’s Wedding-The main reason for my trip home this summer was for my little sister’s wedding. It was a great evening and I couldn’t be happier for my sister and Olivia. I was also happy to share Maid of Honor duties with one of my sister’s closest friends who I’ve known for most of my life. I wish I would have been a little less busy and had had more time to cut a rug, but that ok. It was still a wonderful night and I got to eat WAY too much food and WAY too many donuts.

1. Quality Family Time-I absolutely LOVE living in Colorado, unfortunately all my relatives still reside in the state of Washington. As I get older and have a career I find it harder to get away and see them as often as I would like. This past year has been extra skinny on family trips, but I was fortunate to be able to spend 3 weeks with family over the summer. My dad flew out to Colorado, spent a couple of days with me here before we drove back to Washington. I spent a week and a half in Washington all with family before heading to the Oregon Coast for the last few days of family time. It was great to spend this time and while I’m not excited about the miles on my new car, I’m having a hard time imagining not driving back in future summers. Barley also got to meet all of her cousins and while all 3 cousins could be a bit overwhelming she says, she did really enjoy some quality one on one time with good old Batman.

I’m enjoying cooler fall temps, but also am dreading the shorter days. What am I up to these days? Well other than working of course I’m training away. Saturday night finds me watching 101 Dalmatians while drinking a beer and resting up for my long run tomorrow followed by a trip to the pumpkin patch. I have a half marathon next weekend and then I’m focusing on training for the Austin Marathon in February. I also have a yurt trip planned next month with friends! Happy fall friends!

